Life On The Road

 

My trip today going from North Dakota to Nebraska. Pandora is a must in the car when radio signals fade. Middle picture was taken as I started my drive.

 What craziness we have been up to just in the first couple of months of 2016. M and I are insanely blessed to have the jobs that we have. They allow us great flexibility and that is a worth more to me than the increase in pay we would get if we “got a real job!” 
Now don’t get me wrong, having a set schedule and limited flexibility with an established routine can make life run so much smoother. It can especially help with sleep patterns and good healthy living habits like diet and exercise. Not to mention the security that reliability can often bring. And we do really appreciate and desire for more routine. But by sacrificing that routine and that fuller paycheck we have gained so so many memorable memories. In the past twelve days alone I’ve traveled across 4 states, learned how to play poker against a professional, went camping with family and friends, visited some of my nieces and nephew, laughed and conspired with my sister-in-law, had a girls lunch with my friends, spent quality time in nature, and ate and cooked amazing food. 

 

My sister-in-law Ashley and I. Love that we’ve been able to see each other so much lately!!
 
Currently I’m back in Nebraska visiting my brother’s family because I know their new baby isn’t going to stay a baby for very long! Why wouldn’t I spend my time holding her and getting to know her? I know that we can’t sustain this lifestyle forever. At some point we may be blessed with our own family and that means a lot less traveling. Or maybe our financial situation will be different and it’s no longer feasible to do all this “fun” stuff. But until that time comes I’m going to take full advantage with this flexibility by seeing my family and friends as much as possible. They are what’s most important to me in life. I believe in savings and living within your means but I also believe in, “you can’t take it with you when you’re dead.” 

Now that I’m done ranting about my lifestyle choices I’ll get to the point of all of that. Life on the road can be rough on healthy living. The convince of drive through food and gas station snacks are my defaults. That’s how I always traveled with my family growing up and that’s what I fall back on when I’m not prepared. And some of our recent traveling has been like that. But I had some time to prep for my trip last night and over all I’d give myself a B to B-. When I get sleepy or bored on long road trips I like to snack. Used to be on things like Combos or chips or junky trail mix. Today, knowing that about myself I brought along an apple, a pear, a Kind bar, Skinny Pop, and Angie’s Boom Chicka Pop sweet and salty puffy snacks. I had a big water that I packed with too. I had coffee at the gas station and while I did use cream and Splenda (because I am not one of those people that can drink coffee black *bleh) I thought it was a huge improvement over the ice blended cappacuinos that I used to buy. 

For lunch I had Subway even though I don’t like their sandwiches but I thought it would be better than going through Wendy’s. I’m still trying to think about what would be a good on the road lunch or faster-food restaurant to eat at. I’d love it if there were more Paneras around! Do you have any ideas that you do? Let me know! 

My brother’s cat Benny sure missed me! He was no help writing the blog…
One thought on “Life On The Road

Leave a Reply

