Why, Hello November 

Good lord almighty I can’t believe we’re approaching the end of this year. November 1st today and M and I were already looking into the coming weeks and knowing that time is going to fly by. I started holiday meal planning already because I know that no plan means no success and not that I’m not so much looking to lose a lot during this time. What I’m planning for is to not ruin what I already have worked so hard on. November is also the month that exercise is becoming a priority again. We are coming up on completing our 3rd month on The Wild Diet. It has seemed easy in some regards but it has also been a lot of time and effort. Many many more trips to the grocery store and a ton of more time in the kitchen making fresh foods not just heat and serve prepackaged foods. There’s been weekends spent baking and shopping and so much time spent planning. It has been a lifestyle change. No more zombie nights groggily staring at the tv coming down off of a sugar high. While I love being outside and have gotten in some short walks, I haven’t put a ton of my energy into exercise. One thing at a time if I want to really succeed not just short term but long term.

I do feel like I’m ready to push myself for more activity because I miss being strong. For me exercise this time around is less about weight loss and more about seeing what it will do to/for my body. I have never been in tune with my body before like I am. It used to just do things and I would just have to deal with the effects. But now I can do a much better job of listening to what food, alcohol, and medicine to do my body. Good quality clean foods have completely relieved my heartburn. (Side note: I was diagnosed with heartburn in the third grade after a trip to the E.R. when I told my mother I couldn’t breath. It was actually just me constantly trying to swallow the food in my esophagus that made it seem like I couldn’t breathe properly. THIRD GRADE! I started drinking Maalox daily. As I got older I could tell what foods made it worse. I decided in high school not to take anymore medicine for it because I was clearly in control of what affected it. It was my own form of punishment…can’t do the time don’t do the crime sort of mantra.)

file0130
Me as a third grader in our very clever Halloween costumes…
5074
Snapchat makes for another lazy Halloween costume 🙂 
Good quality clean foods have protected me from getting sick. (Another side note: I’ve been kind of a weakling my whole life. Bronchitis spell after bronchitis spell that’s hangs on for weeks and months at a time. Two years ago we saw a chiropractor twice weekly for a year. I never got sick once while going to the chiropractor. Well that was insanely expensive and we just couldn’t afford to do it another year. Guess what came right back? All that sickness. I get sick every single school year in September [I even have the whiny Facebook “from the past” posts to prove it :)]. Every single year. But guess what? I have not gotten sick yet this year and that seems like a miracle.) 

Good quality clean foods have given me two natural periods. Which is great but so far no ovulation is occurring. And that’s where I am at now. Just can’t seem to get these ovaries working properly just yet. Food has done as much as it will and now I want to find out what adding in the activity will do. There is a flood of hormones that go on when you get your sweat on so I wonder if that will have an effect on the reproductive side of it all.

5030
Some of that good quality clean food I was talking about! 
5061
He CAN cook! Thanks to my hubby for making us a Wild Diet meal of ham, eggs, and veggies.
 

Also, apparently I’m getting old. I guess 28 is the year you first start to notice a decline in the body! Or probably it’s just an excess weight issue but the ailments I have make me feel about 100. I got plantar fasciitisc this year and typically it’s due to one of three main factors. Standing most of the day, flat feet, and being over weight. Well I’m a dead ringer for all three. Ironically enough my second issue has been my butt. Too much sitting on hard plastic chairs for work putting pressure on a nerve or bone that makes it super painful. So it hurts to stand and it hurts to sit. Lovely. I’m hoping the exercises get my body strong enough to heal those pains.

Since I am committing to an exercise routine for healing/strength purposes I’m hoping it’ll be a bit more motivating to stick with it rather than just for an  unattainable fantasy bod.

So November is today already which means I got my but downstairs and put in a 21 Day Fix cardio video. And it kicked my butt! Holy smokes I am out of shape. I even had to modify some of the modifiers! I will definitely feel this tomorrow. I also had my first Shakeology in probably six months. I’ve been too lazy previously and didn’t think it was necessary since starting the Wild Diet but as an intense workout recovery drink I had one with a banana, milk, and pb2. It sure was delicious! If I can have one of those bad boys as a “treat” afterwards maybe it won’t be all bad. 😉

5096
There’s really not a filter good enough to make an unfinished cement basement look charming but I tried my best. My little work out room downstairs where the phrase, “really!?” was muttered a lot as I attempted some cardio tonight. 
5031

Leave a Reply

