Day One – WFPB

New acronyms to know: WFPB (whole foods plant based), SAD (standard American diet), WOE (way of eating). 

Thoughts/feelings: I won’t pretend that I’m not a little apprehensive about everything we’re doing. I’m worried I won’t see the results I want soon enough and that I’ll give up. I’m also worried about my recipes, cooking skills, and having enough variety. I’ve probably never made an animal product free and fat free meal once in my life and now I’m going to be doing it every meal everyday.

 But I also know that weight loss can be a lot slowerer than on a low carb high fat/protein diet. We decided to not use the scale at all this time. This will be hard for me because I enjoy seeing the numbers go down but I can’t imagine how frustrated I’d be after working so hard and say in a month or two I saw little to no progress. So out the scale goes. A lot of the people I’ve talked to that eat this way say your other numbers go down first. The blood pressure and chloesterol drop dramatically and quickly. To combate my fear of cooking this way I’ve got the amazing Dr. McDougall Friends group on Facebook that are always posting great recipes and there to help me figure this all out. There’s also some great YouTube channels that have tons of recipes too. And tomorrow my Instant Pot arrives! I’m very excited to try that thing out. 

Breakfast:

Grape Nuts with some puffed brown rice cereal mixed with one chopped up medjool date and covered with just a small amount of unsweetened cashew milk and a plate of Navel oranges.

Breakfast took longer to eat than a (SAD) breakfast. I could gobble up some eggs and toast in no time but having to chew those Grape Nuts and peel out my oranges took a bit longer. I stopped eating when I was full leaving behind about 5 or so bites of cereal. A few hours later I still felt satisfied and not hungry. 

Lunch:

Oil free French fries, mix green salad, and blueberries.

I still need to get a few more groceries so my salad was pretty bare but still ok. I topped it with Jane Esselstyn’s 3, 2, 1 dressing. I am still obviously used to oil and mayo based dressing like ranch so it’s a pretty big switch but it’s not terrible and I think I’ll get used to it. The potatoes wil also be something to get used to. I think partly it’s because I used russet potatoes and they are a little earthy for my tastes. All in all it wasn’t bad. It was filling and sastisying. 

Dinner:

Brown rice, black beans, corn, red peppers, avocado, and salsa bowl.

Full honesty I was a little disappointed with this meal. I am a crunch girl. Hence my love of popcorn, chips, and such. This had a lot of good healthy food but nothing to off set the softness of it all. I got the occasional bite of fresh bell pepper but it wasn’t enough of a crunch that I was hoping for. Also I was hoping the beans and rice would take on more flavor than they did. Next time I’d make a cilantro lime rice as a base and strain my beans. For the crunch or as I like to call it the it factor I’m not sure. Maybe a romaine lettuce wrap? 

I’m still learning. This is only day one. There will be excellent meals and there will be failures and all the variances in between. I just have to keep at it and not give up. I’ll post more tomorrow! Any advice or tips you have would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

