Plant Power

We’ve officially been WFPB for one week now. Obviously Saturday I was struggling a bit with my choices of foods. We also got some hard news in our personal life yesterday that made me want to eat whatever I wanted and drink whatever I wanted but I took to heart the advice M had given us the week prior. He said, “we’re going to have tough days especially at first and we should watch more documentaries to keep us focused.” So I did and I also bought the book The Cheese Trap by Dr. Neal Barnard. It’s incredible to me just how much well documented peer reviewed research is actually out there and somehow the general public is still led astray. We are prime examples of it ourselves. Just a few short weeks ago we were making bulletproof coffee with a tablespoon of butter. The Wild Diet did teach us good things and I won’t discount the good it did like start the discussion of what’s in animal products and it eliminated all processed foods from our diet. It also taught us to look for the highest quality and nutritional variety of grains. But even though we were buying and eating the highest quality meats, seafood, cheeses, and eggs it didn’t make it healthy; just healthier than the meats, seafood, cheeses, and eggs we had been eating. 

I’m really excited to see what will happen with my body after time without animal products. My desire to stay away from them actually grows as time apart from them increases. The more I learn the more I truly believe I found the major cause in my PCOS. As for M he’s already seeing the affects of a non animal products diet. He feels better already by having less pain throughout his body. His IBS had done a 180. After years now of having horrible diarrhea he’s having normal bowel movements. Just one week! And he’s been trying different medications and diets for years. The one day he did have troubles was after we ate at Huhot. I had been up since 4:30 and I was tired and crabby and didn’t want to cook. We went to Huhot and kept it vegan but used oil to cook our foods. He had bathroom troubles shortly thereafter. So surprisingly M is the one advocating for no cheating and sticking to the WFPB no oil as much as possible.  

To help with my crunch addiction some crunchy toast with peanut butter and a drizzle of honey. I know that I’m going to have to wean myself off of the high fat peanut butter but I’m willing to take parts of this at a time in order for it to be a long term success.

A lot of the recipes I’ve attempted lately have kind of been a big let down. So instead of trying to create something fun and fancy for supper last night I stuck to plain but delicious favorites like mashed potatoes and corn.

We were lucky enough for one gorgeous day yesterday. We even had the windows wide open which Snickers enjoyed.

*this post is dedicated to Choco Chip. 🍪

Leave a Reply

